Admin action for deletions
A Category Admin can transfer a photo to the Consider for Deletion category and should add a brief note at the foot of Photo Details box, stating the reason (not level, blurred, not eligible, excessive number etc), the category it was in (eg Cont2011, tugs etc), the nominator\'s initials and date
Admin names are never identified to members when a photo is deleted.
From the Consider for deletion category, the Webmaster or delegate will make a decision. It may be decided to delete the photo and send a message to the member advising the reason. It may be decided that the photo is acceptable and can be transferred back to the correct category with an explanation to the Category Admin. Such return to category transfers will usually be because of the exercise of flexibility in the case of old or rare or otherwise interesting photos, or where it is the only example on site.
With very few exceptions, all proposed deletions are seen by "two pairs of eyes". Where the Webmaster or delegate is uncertain, usually where it is a matter of judgment (eg questions of excessive manipulation, or lack of sharpness), the photo is considered by a "third pair of eyes".
[back to top]