is the deletion process?
Members can take pride in having their photo submissions published after meeting site standards defined in the FAQs. The following procedure enables all members, particularly new members, to identify the type of photo which is considered for deletion. The process is designed to encourage and help members improve their skills.
QUALITY CONTROL ACTION
Volunteer Admins inspect each photo submitted and check it against site standards. If they are met, the photo is accepted. The Admin then ensures that the photo destination is within the correct category.
If the photo does not meet site standards (see FAQ Site standards for photos), then the following options are available:-
If the Admin has time available, the member may be contacted. The problem is outlined and the member can either delete, or manipulate the image and resubmit. Manipulation may include levelling the horizon, cropping, correcting darkness or blur, etc. If the member does not respond, then one of the following actions is taken.
If the only problem is a sloping horizon, the Admin notes in the Description field “The horizon not level), . The image is then transferred to the “Considered for deletion" page. This page can only be viewed by Admin and the photographer of the photo in question.
CONSIDERED FOR DELETION
If manipulation action is not considered a remedy for a photo inconsistent with site standards – too dark, part ship only, blurred, cluttered foreground, ship not main item in image, ship too distant and resolution too low to crop, etc – then it is transferred to the “Considered for deletion” page. A brief reason is shown in the Description field.
If an image is a duplicate of another - perhaps a submission action of which the member is unaware - it may be immediately deleted by the Admin.
Photos in the Consider for deletion category, and the comment of the category Admin, are reviewed (considered) by the Webmaster or his delegate.
If the comment of the category Admin is accepted, Images are deleted from the site. The member is advised of the deletion.
If the comment of the category Admin is not agreed, the issue is discussed with the category Admin and the photo possibly returned to its category
When a picture has been deleted from the site and the member notified with the reason given for deletion, it is not allowed to be re-posted to the site unless it has been manipulated to conform to the site rules. If a picture is again uploaded as it was, without any alteration, it will be deleted without further referral to the member.
The webmaster has regularly told members that they can contact him directly if they are unhappy about a deletion.
Members are advised to watch their My Photos album for any changes of submitted category to “Considered for deletion”
THE RE-UPLOAD Function.
Photographs already uploaded can be enhanced if needed and replace the old photograph, without loosing comments and remarks made about the photograph. Admin can and will use this function for simple corrections as well.
[back to top]